Giving Better Feedback: gClass Folders

There are a lot of things I really like about giving students written feedback instead of number grades, but the only thing that I don’t like is the amount of paper I use when printing out copies of rubrics or the individualized letters created with AutoCrat. In the spirit of just-in-time learning, a colleague helped me set up gClass Folders for my class.

I know that gClass Folders offers a lot of different capabilities, which I’m sure I will explore eventually, but for now I’m using it as a way to deliver individualized feedback to students without using any paper. You can read about the technical details of how I do that in this post and detailed instruction are available on the gClass Folders website.

Besides the obvious advantages of saving trees by using less paper, I’m really excited about the possibilities this opens up. I like that both the student and I have access to the finished file. The electronic version is less likely to get lost than a paper copy, students (or I) can easily share the file with their parents and I can easily keep and retrieve a copy if I need to refer back to it.

I know that I’ve only scratched the surface of what I could do with this tool, but I’m glad to have started experimenting with the possibilities at this point in the year. By the time September rolls around, I’ll have a better idea of how I would like to set up folders at the beginning of the year so that students can collect an electronic portfolio of their work and the feedback I give them.

One thought on “Giving Better Feedback: gClass Folders

Leave a Reply

