Things I learned the hard way when it comes to using Google Forms, AutoCrat and gClass Folders

Things I learned the hard way when it comes to using Google Forms, AutoCrat and gClass Folders:

  • When I set up my rubric in a Google Form, I make each question a required question so that I don’t accidentally forget to fill out one of the fields.
  • Each question on the Google Form corresponds to one of the assignment criteria and each possible response is a descriptor of one of the levels of achievement. I use a multiple choice format if I only need to select one of the possible options, while the checkbox format allows me to select more than one option.

Google FOrm Add Item

 

  • Regardless of whether I use the multiple choice or checkbox format, I always select the “add other” option so that if none of the descriptors quite matches a student’s work, I can give a customized comment.

Google Form question set up

 

  • When I create the form, I select the option to show a link to submit a response on the confirmation page that shows up after I have submitted a form. That allows me to submit a whole series of rubrics without having to re-open the form each time.

Google form confirmation page

  • Each form response is automatically added to a separate spreadsheet. While I’m marking, I keep the spreadsheet open in other tab so that I can quickly go back and make changes to a student’s feedback if I need to.
  • I keep a separate grade book, so I enter student grades in that as I go. That’s a great way to make sure that the class set assignments is complete before running AutoCrat. It is possible to run AutoCrat a second time for students who submit their work late, but it’s a bit tricky so I prefer to wait until I have the work from everyone.
  • Just before I run AutoCrat, I sort the spreadsheet of form responses alphabetically by the students’ last names. The list then aligns with the class roster created by gClass Folders. That means that I can copy-and-paste the column of Student Folder ID links from the gClass Folders roster into the responses sheet. When I run AutoCrat, I can use the folder ID link as the destination for the merged document.
  • In AutoCrat, there’s an option to create a Google Doc or a PDF. I create the PDF option so that students can’t change their feedback once the file has been shared with them.
  • While AutoCrat runs (it usually takes 2-3 minutes for my class of 43 students), I open up a few student assignment folders to double-check that everything worked.
2 thoughts on “Things I learned the hard way when it comes to using Google Forms, AutoCrat and gClass Folders

  1. Johnc21 says:

    Admiring the hard work you put into your site and detailed information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account. ccceeabbcfbe

Leave a Reply

