If you have been following my prompt of the week series, you will have seen how I used ChatGPT to create an informative text about the excretory system, generated a series of comprehension questions and created a follow-up section of text about how the structure and function of the excretory system explains why we feel thirst after eating salty foods.

To finish off the whole resource, I wanted to generate a list of key vocabulary words with student-friendly definitions. So this is what I asked for:

Identify 6-8 key vocabulary terms from the text and provide a student-friendly definition for each one. Each definition must give the scientific meaning of the term. Do not use analogies in the definitions.

I ended up using the key words and definitions as a matching exercise for students to do before they got into the comprehension questions, but I think they would also be useful as a glossary that students could refer to throughout the reading activity.

Here’s the finished version of the resource.

Have you tried this prompt? Tell us about it in the comments!

Sarah Phillips Avatar

Published by

One response to “Creating a glossary”

  1. Creating a Textbook Page – Ms. S. Phillips Avatar

    […] to create custom materials for my classes, like informational texts, comprehension questions, and glossaries. This is largely because I don’t have textbooks for the courses I’m teaching and I […]

Leave a comment