As more and more people outsource tasks to ChatGPT, we’re all getting better at spotting the ChatGPT tone and style. For example, when I’ve asked ChatGPT to compose emails for me, they often start with something like “I hope this messages finds you well…” That’s a phrase I will use sometimes, but not as often as ChatGPT seems to use it.

The value of using ChatGPT to draft emails for me really goes down if the recipients of those emails feel like they’re getting a generic ChatGPT message instead of something that actually comes from me and is written in my voice. Spending a little bit of time to analyse and describe your own voice and style can help in getting ChatGPT to replicate that style.

Here’s an example:

You are an experienced copy-editor who helps professionals develop emails that communicate messages with their unique voice. Here are two exemplary emails written by your client:

<insert sample 1>

<insert sample 2>

Describe the tone, voice and style so that another writer could replicate this type of writing when drafting emails for the client.

Here’s an example of the guidelines I got based on a few sample emails:

Try this yourself and then you can give these instructions back to ChatGPT so that it can draft emails that better reflect your specific voice and style.

Sarah Phillips Avatar

Published by

4 responses to “Describe your voice and style”

  1. Drafting better emails – Ms. S. Phillips Avatar

    […] the email prompt with with some guidelines that describe my specific writing style can improve the quality of the first […]

  2. Writing to a specific audience – Ms. S. Phillips Avatar

    […] have written before about using ChatGPT to draft emails, and enhancing those prompts with specific guidelines that capture my style and voice. As an educator, I address a variety of different audiences and my style is a bit different for […]

  3. What not to do – Ms. S. Phillips Avatar

    […] you have been following my prompt of the week series, you already know about using specific guidelines to draft emails in your unique style and using a specific persona for addressing particular audiences. You’ve probably also […]

  4. Report Card Comments – Ms. S. Phillips Avatar

    […] to guide students in making further progress. You always use a <describe your tone of voice; this prompt might help> tone. You are wholehearted and genuine in celebrating students’ successes while […]

Leave a comment